Micho names final Cranes squad to face off with Algeria in AFCON qualifiers

June 8, 2023

Uganda Cranes coach Milutin Sredojevic aka Micho has named the final squad of 23 players which will take on Algeria in the 2023 AFCON qualifiers.

The Cranes are set to host the Algerians at Japoma Stadium in Douala, Cameroon on the 18th of June 2023.

Micho today morning named the final squad as the players have been in residential training at the Camp Paradise hotel.

There have been some surprise omissions from the squad by the Serbian. Players such as Moses Opondo, Isma Watenga, Juma Ibrahim, Allan Enyou, Musa Ramathan and Allan Okello (although he’s been on loan with KCCA) who are all foreign based were dropped by Micho.

Vipers centre back Hilary Mukundane who has been brilliant all season was a surprise omission from the squad by the Serbian. Another exceptional Vipers player in Bright Anukani didn’t make the cut.

According to this squad, there are 3 goalkeepers, eight defenders, 5 midfielders and 7 forwards.

Uganda will player a friendly game against Democratic Republic of Congo on Wednesday, 14th June in Cameroon.

The Cranes currently sit in 3rd place in Group F on 4 points, the same as East African neighbors, Tanzania. Algeria leads the group with 12 points while Niger sit bottom with 2.



Salim Omar Magoola (Richards Bay FC, South Africa), Charles Lukwago (St. George FC, Ethiopia), Nafian Alionzi (URA FC, Uganda)


Kenneth Semakula (SC Villa, Uganda), Gavin Kizito (Al Ittihad SC, Egypt), Abdu Azizi Kayondo (CD Leganes, Spain), Joseph Ochaya (Al Makwloon Al Arab, Egypt), Halid Lwaliwa (FK Bregalnica, North Macedonia), Gift Fred (SC Villa, Uganda), Geofrey Wasswa (KCCA FC, Uganda), Rogers Torach (Vipers SC, Uganda)


Khalid Aucho (Yanga SC, Tanzania), Bobosi Byaruganga (FC Austin, USA), Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC, Uganda), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC, Uganda), Isma Mugulusi (Makedonikos FC, Greece)


Milton Karisa (Vipers SC, Uganda), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa, Uganda), Rogers Mato (KCCA FC, Uganda), Faruku Miya (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Emmanuel Okwi (Erbil SC, Iraq), Fahad Bayo (MFK Vyškov, Czech Republic), Richard Bassangwa (Wadi Degla SC, Egypt)