Gareth Southgate names his Full England’s final Squad for the 2024 Euros

June 7, 2024

Harry Maguire and Jack Grealish have been left out of England’s final squad Euro 2024 roster.

Luke Shaw, Maguire’s Manchester United teammate, joins the squad despite not having played since February because of a hamstring injury. Maguire has been sidelined since mid-April owing to a calf injury.

The team has chosen Anthony Gordon and Jarrod Bowen ahead of Manchester City’s Grealish, a three-time Premier League winner and a £100 million acquisition from Aston Villa in 2021.

James Maddison and Curtis Jones have also been cut, leaving the Eagles with the most players in the squad with four: Adam Wharton of Crystal Palace, who was uncapped prior to Monday’s victory over Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Eberechi Eze.

While Jarrad Branthwaite and Jarell Quansah have been left out, Southgate has selected Marc Guehi, Lewis Dunk, Joe Gomez, and Ezri Konsa as possible center-back partners for John Stones. The youthful Liverpool defender, however, has remained on standby.

Luke Shaw, meanwhile, has joined the final 26-man roster. England manager Gareth Southgate has confirmed that the left-back may be available for the Three Lions’ June 20 group stage match against Denmark.

Kobbie Mainoo, a young player for Manchester United who earned his debut for his country in a match against Brazil in March, has also been included. Southgate has chosen to have Ivan Toney and Ollie Watkins replace Harry Kane as his deputies.

Goalkeepers can be substituted during the competition, but England can make last-minute additions to their roster up until their opening match against Serbia on June 16 at the Euros.

England’s final squad Euro

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford (Everton), Dean Henderson (Crystal Palace), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal).

Defenders: Lewis Dunk (Brighton), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Marc Guehi (Crystal Palace), Ezri Konsa (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Man Utd), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Newcastle), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Conor Gallagher (Chelsea), Kobbie Mainoo (Manchester United), Declan Rice (Arsenal), Adam Wharton (Crystal Palace).

Forwards: Jude Bellingham (Real Madrid), Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Eberechi Eze (Crystal Palace), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Anthony Gordon (Newcastle), Harry Kane (Bayern Munich), Cole Palmer (Chelsea), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Ivan Toney (Brentford), Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa).”