Uganda lands South Africa and Congo in 2025 AFCON qualification

July 4, 2024

The 2025 AFCON Qualification Draw has taken place today Thursday, July 4th, in Johannesburg, South Africa,
Uganda has been placed in Group K, which also includes Congo Brazzaville, South Sudan, and 1996 African champion South Africa.

In the last two seasons, the Uganda Cranes were not able to make it to the championship games.

Emerse Fae, the current AFCON champion coach of Ivory Coast, and Moroccan icon Marouane Chamakh supervised the draw.

Based on the most recent FIFA World rankings, eight national teams were seeded into four pots with twelve players each.

The qualifiers’ first and second match days are scheduled for September 2–10, 2024, while match days three and four are scheduled for October 7–15, 2024.

The dates of match days five and six are set for November 11, 20, 24.

The top two teams from each group will move on to the continental final, which takes place in Morocco from December 21, 2025, to January 18, 2026.

Full AFCON Qualification Groups

Group A: Tunisia, Madagascar, Comoros, Gambia

Group B: Morocco, Gabon, Central African Republic, Lesotho

Group C: Egypt, Cape Verde, Mauritania, Botswana

Group D: Nigeria, Benin, Libya, Rwanda

Group E: Algeria, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Liberia

Group F: Ghana, Angola, Sudan, Niger

Group G: Ivory Coast, Zambia, Siera Leone, Chad

Group H: DR Congo, Guinea, Tanzania, Ethiopia

Group I: Mali, Mozambique, Guinea Bissau, Eswatini

Group J: Cameroon, Namibia, Kenya, Zimbabwe

Group K: South Africa, Uganda, Congo Brazzaville, South Sudan

Group L: Senegal, Burkina Faso, Malawi, Burundi