Micho names the Uganda Cranes squad for the 2023 CHAN tournament

December 20, 2022

Uganda’s Serbian coach Milutin Sredojevic popularly known as Micho has named the Uganda Cranes provisional squad for the 2023 CHAN tournament.

The squad consists of 35 players and its from this that Micho will select the final 26 players who will represent the country in the tournament for home based players.

The squad has 5 goalkeepers, 6 defenders, 6 full backs, 6 wingers, 6 central midfielders and 6 central forwards.

Moses Waiswa
Moses Waiswa

This list has only players in the Uganda Premier League.

The list is dominated by Vipers, KCCA, URA but also has players from teams such as Express, SC Villa Wakiso Giants, Arua Hill, BUL, Onduparaka and Gaddafi.

The tournament is set to take place in Algeria and will run from 13th January to 4th February 2023.

Uganda was placed in Group B alongside DR Congo, Ivory Coast and Senegal.

The Cranes were a few days ago left in a scare after the FUFA president Eng Moses Magogo announced that the team was going to be withdrawn due to lack of funds which were later partially provided.

Full Squad:


Alionzi Nafian (URA)
Muwanga Mathias (Onduparaka)
Kalyowa Emmanuel (BUL FC)
Mutakubwa Joel (Gaddafi FC)
Komakech Jack (Vipers SC)

Full Backs

Begisa James (URA FC)
Mandela Ashraf (Vipers)
Matsiko Grant (Wakiso Giants)
Derrick Ndahiro (URA FC)
Mubiru Isa (Vipers)
Kiggundu Arthur (Express)

Central defenders

Mukundane Hilary (Vipers)
Semakula Kenneth (SC Villa)
Wasswa Geoffrey (KCCA)
Obenchan Filbert (KCCA)
Gift Fred (SC Villa)
Vuni Bright (Arua Hill)

Central midfielders

Sentamu Siraje (Vipers)
Ndondhi Moses Waiswa (KCCA)
Kyeyune Saidi (URA FC)
Senoga Hussein (Express)
Watambala Abdul Karim (Vipers)
Marvin Joseph Youngman(Vipers)


Milton Karisa (Vipers)
Orit Ibrahim (Vipers)
Mutyaba Travis (SC Villa)
Aliro Moses (Wakiso Giants)
Ssenoga Kagawa (KCCA)
Mato Rogers (KCCA)


Bright Anukani (Vipers)
Kasule Ibrahim (Wakiso Giants)
Ssematimba Titus (Wakiso Giants)
Ssebufu Frank (Wakiso Giants)
Yiga Najib (Vipers SC)
Rwothomio Cromwell (Vipers)

Headcoach: Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic

Like our Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/sportyblast2 For updates on Sports.